HOMEMADE LAUNDRY DETERGENT :

A CLEAN HOMESTEAD
1601371_618585858267823_8010300758612149724_n
I have been wanting to make this for over a year.
But, I had alot of questions:
Would it really clean?
Was it safe for HE WASHERS?
Would it save me money?
Could it live up to a dirty homestead lifestyle & a 4 year old?
Was it easy?

I found out! YES! To every question. I really wish I had made this sooner. It cost approx. $20 for everything. And I realized I no longer need to buy fabric softener. My clothes smell amazing, are soft and there is no static cling. So, that saves me money too!

I am quite picky when it comes to cleaning. I have only used liquid detergent for years. I didn’t like the residue feeling from the powders. So, again I was very skeptical to make my own.

The day I made this my four year old spilled a plate size red kool-aid stain on his white sheets. yeah! I sprayed it with Spray ‘n Wash Resolve pre-treat and ran my first white load with my new homemade detergent. I thought, if this wouldn’t test it, nothing will. It all came out! Not even that “oh, i can deal with that barely seen soft pink color that’s left”. My whites have never looked better.

I know this will last me longer than my regular purchases. For a family of 3, this batch has lasted us about 5 months. THAT’S ONLY $4 PER MONTH!!!

Here’s the run down:

20 Mule Team Borax
Arm & Hammer Super Washing Soda
Arm & Hammer Pure Baking Soda
Oxi Clean Stain Remover Powder
Purex Crystals Laundry Enhancer
Fels-Naptha Laundry Bar Soap
5 Gallon bucket
Mannual cheese grater

I found all these ingredients at Walmart. Dump first 5 ingredients into a clean dry 5 gallon bucket & stir. Grate Fels-Naptha Laundry Bar Soap into bucket & stir some more. That’s it! I have placed some back into the Oxi Clean bucket, a 4 pint Ball canning jar and the rest stayed in the bucket. It made approx. 3 gallons. I hope you try it too. Let me know what you think.

10406887_618585684934507_4788040101085907785_n

Leave a Reply

