My Favorite Bread Recipe!

IMG_1921Today was cloudy so I thought it was a perfect day for grilled cheese sandwiched.  I love to make this bread for my family. It is the easiest and most delicious I ever found.

Walter Sand’s Soft sandwich Bread
2 cups warm water
2 tablespoons sugar or honey
1 packet active dry yeast or 2 1/2 teaspoons instant yeast or active dry yeast
1/2 cup nonfat dry milk
2 tablespoons soft butter, or vegetable oil (
I use butter)
6 cups unbleached all-purpose flour
2 to 3 teaspoons salt

I make mine in my stand mixer. Makes it super easy.
1. Pour warm water into mixing bowl. Add sugar or honey and then the yeast.
2. When the yeast is bubbling, add the butter, dry milk, salt and most of tIMG_1919he flour. (about 4 cups) Using the dough hook, knead the dough until it begins pulling away from the sides of the bowl and clings to the hook. About 8 minutes. Then start adding the rest of the flour.
3. place dough in a greased bowl, turn it over to coat all sides, and cover the bowl. Let it rise in a draft-free place until doubled, 1 to 2 hours. Deflate the dough, and divide it in half. Form into loaves and place in well greased 8 1/2″ x 4 1/2″ loaf pans. (I do a smaller one for little sandwiched for my 4 yr old) Let rise until dough domes. Another hour or so.
4. After the dough has been rising for 30 minutes, preheat oven to 350 F. Bake for 30 to 35 minutes. Remove from oven and tip the breads out of their pans. Place on a rack to cool completely before slicing.

IMG_1913IMG_1914

One thought on “My Favorite Bread Recipe!

Leave a Reply

